They Call Me Frenchy

My Thoughts…My Memories

A Moment in Time


The other day I was clearing some old brush and blackberries in our woods behind us. It was a beautiful morning, and I decided to do something unbecoming for a man of my age and stature. I just laid down flat on my back in the dirt, like a snow angel in winter, and looked straight up through the tall Douglas Fir trees that surrounded me. I could see the soft pillowed clouds floating effortlessly in the background of baby blue colored sky. I found it very peaceful and soothing to my senses. I could hear only the wind sifting through the shadows of grey, swaying large towering timbers one way and then the other in slow locomotion. I laid there as if I was paralyzed, trying to become one with the earth. With my hands at my sides, I dug my fingers into the earth trying to submerse myself in the moment.

Thru natures sky light, sun rays looking like fairy dust pierced through the evergreens, announcing the sun’s imminent return to the western sky. I felt frozen in time for a brief moment. Faint echo’s from a distance, summoned the journey of a winged platoon of unruly and yet synchronized flock of geese headed in the northerly direction. I could best describe them as a symphony of tone deaf critters honking their own horns. While I was searching thru the trees to identify my winged friends, two wayward geese flew directly overhead on their way to a distant rendezvous.

We Christians, of all people, should be “honking” our horns. Time is short. Jesus is coming soon! Our desire for sharing our faith is not just a call, it is a warning. There is still hope in a world that is hurting. Just as we recognize the ducks and geese on their yearly pilgrimage, faithful Christians should be gathering up our flock. Our rendezvous is not on this earth, it is in heaven.

“For the Lord himself shall descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of the archangel, and with the trump of God: and the dead in Christ shall rise first: then we which are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds, to meet the Lord in the air: and so shall we  ever with the Lord.” 1 Thess. 4:16-17

~Danny   September 14, 2010

July 22, 2014 - Posted by | Inspirational

No comments yet.

Leave a comment